Archiveteam:IRC

From Archiveteam
Revision as of 08:35, 31 March 2013 by DukeNukem (talk | contribs) (ArchiveTeam on IRC)
Jump to: navigation, search

IRC (Internet Relay Chat) is an internet protocol that allows multiple users to connect to a server and chat. Each IRC "server" can be connected to by a person, then someone joins a "channel" with the particular subject they are interested in.

The ArchiveTeam uses IRC as it's one-stop shop for coordinating official and unofficial AT projects.

You can log the channels where you are using your client, generally. But if you want a 24/7 bot logging your channel, you can use a script like this (change the server and channel variables).

ArchiveTeam on IRC

Below are a list of the IRC channels the ArchiveTeam uses to control all it's projects, in no particular order. All these channels are on the EFNet network.

Channel name Channel hashtag Channel description Status
In use channels
Archive Team #archiveteam The main ArchiveTeam channel, mainly used for news, announcement and early project planning. N/A
-bs #archiveteam-bs Off-topic discussion for things not directly related to ArchiveTeam and its projects. N/A
Warrior #warrior Channel for the discussion and development of the ArchiveTeam Warrior N/A
ArchiveMeme #archivememe An unofficial fan channel started by BlueMax. http://memegenerator.net/ArchiveTeam N/A
Active projects on a deadline
The Phoenix #theashes This news site is shutting down and we already grabbed blog.thephoenix.com. Active
ispygames #ispygames Gamespy, 1up, UGO and IGN (most of the sites) are being closed. Planning and action here. Active
preposterus #preposterus Blogging site posterous.com is closing. We are saving it now. Active
Webshots #webshots Discussion of everything related to the webshots shutdown. Active
Formspring #firespring Formspring announced its closure on March 15, 2013. Plans for archiving and general closure chat are located here. Active
AnyHub #AnyHubTeam The AnyHub team. Active
Last.fm #lastchance.fm The channel for Last.fm archiving. Active
Long term ongoing projects
AOL #aohell The channel for old-school AOL archiving. Idle
BashUp #bashup The ArchiveTeam Quote Backup Project, dedicated to backing up quote databases (such as Bash.org) and similar websites (similar to FMyLife or MyLifeIsAverage). Idle
Twitter #archiveteam-twitter Saving twitter one tweet at a time Idle
URLTeam #urlteam The URL shortener backup project of the ArchiveTeam. To quote: "URL shortening = fucking bad idea" Active
Currently idle or complete projects
FanFiction.Net #fanfriction The channel for coordinating preemptive FanFiction.Net archiving. Active
FlickrFckr #flickrfckr The Flickr backup project of the Archive Team. Not needed just yet, but it's a Yahoo owned service, so we're always prepped. Idle
Archive Commandos #archivecommandos http://archiveteam.org/index.php?title=Commandos Idle
WikiTeam #wikiteam The Wiki backup project. Any wiki can be backed up here. Idle
ProdigalSon #prodigalson The backup project for pages.prodigy.net. Idle
GetMUD #getmud The multi-user-dungeon backup project of the Archive Team. Currently no progress as of yet. Idle
Space Invaders #spaceinvaders The Windows Live Spaces backup project. Idle
ArchiveTeam Philly #archiveteam-philly For team members in the Philadelphia area (there's a lot). Discussion and possible physical meetups? Idle
Forever Alone #foreveralone The Friendster backup project. Idle
Magically Delicious #magicallydelicious Delicious backup project Idle
Google Grape #googlegrape Main channel for coordinating the Google Video project. Idle
BOINC Google #boincgoogle Sub-channel for the Google Video project, for details about running the distributed-download software Idle
Lulu Poetry #lulupoetry Channel for the brief but intense Poetry.com archiving project. Idle
Archive Strikes Back #archivestrikesback Channel for Forums.starwars.com archive project. Idle

IRC Logs

Scumola/swebb is also hosting chatlogs of some channels at http://badcheese.com/~steve/atlogs/. Though only logs from the past week or so are listed, older chatlogs can still be accessed by changing the URL.

Unofficial ArchiveTeam QDB (Offline)

ArchiveTeamsters are encouraged to visit and contribute to the unofficial ArchiveTeam quote database.